Where did my luggage go?

My plane had landed and I was finally at my destination.  I could smell the sweet smell of the ocean and feel the beaming sun!  I couldn’t wait to get my luggage, check into my hotel and head to the beach!

I raced to the carasoel to grab my luggage. The blond lady, with the 2 noisy kids grabbed her pink suitcases, the tall thin man with the bad BO that was sitting beside you grabs his red and white suitcase and so on and so on. People frantically pushed me out of the way to grab their bags and soon I realized that I was  only one standing there, waiting. Everyone else had their luggage and was leaving the airport, except for me.

A little man with a curly black hair and big black eyes looks at me and says, ‘no luggage?”  I shrugged my shoulders and replied,”no lugggage.”

Earlier that day, I had specifically put everything, including my toothbrush, razer, sunscreen and nailclippers into my luggage. I had put nothing in my daypack because I was one of those people that always gets hassled at the airport so I figured this would save me time! And here I was in Cuba with a phrasebook and a passport.  So, what did I do:

Went to the little office in the airport to describe my bag. How large was this bag! Now, I hadn’t taken note of the exact measurements, but was able to pick it out of the line up of black backpacks.

Phoned the airline company to notify them in which I was told I would receive $75.00/day-not a lot for a resort town as I soon found out!

Took a taxi to my hotel

Went shopping for flipflops, bathing suit, toothbrush, etc..

Day 2: To be continued

Leave a Reply

